News

A great start to Mel’s racing season…

We managed to catch up with Melanie 3 months after our last newsletter and a lot has been happening. First and foremost there was the first race of the Red Bull Air Race season in Abu Dhabi.

Melanie, Abu Dhabi… first race of the season… how did that go?

The first race of the season is always an important one, it’s quite a test for us as we have not flown around a track for long while. Personally I had not flown on a circuit for six months. Needless to say, I was extremely motivated and happy to get back into it. The training went very well, whether in practice or Qualifying. Conditions were ideal for the race. The level of the challengers is very high, but the team spirit as always is there, despite the competition. This season, three newcomers are joining the Challenger team. In practice and in Qualifying, I took to the track with a lot of respect and used a very progressive method. I had kept the rest for race day and decided to go full power then.

So you were happy about the Free Practice and qualifying sessions… what about the race?

I flew in third position out of 6, which is good. I flew a very good first lap, with a great entry speed, the light was green, but I over-G’d between Gates 6 and 7, thus receiving a one second penalty. But even with the penalty, I was still ½ second off the pace, and made up for the time on my second lap, putting me in first position at that point. Without the penalty, it would have been a sensational time. I knew that would put a lot of pressure on Florian Berger, our main target because he is always faster! I know that I need to improve on speed to beat him. It would be good if on subsequent races, I could fly after him. Anyway, I am very pleased with my second place. This was my first podium since October 2017, when I was 1st at Indianapolis. I think I showed I am part of the game. The Abu Dhabi race has been a great launchpad of this season. My next RBAR will be on 15-16 June in Kazan, Russia.

A very good start to the season! What have you been doing since you got back from Abu Dhabi?

Training, training and more training in preparation for the aerobatics competitions and races to come later this year, as well as running my company AirMel. Most weekends I am at Le Castellet or Valréas, training with my coach Pierre Varloteaux, who is very pleased with my progress. I am flying a lot better than last year and Pierre has been key in helping me focus on my precision and concentration. It’s a fantastic feeling to know that you are doing things right and making progress.

You have also been seen at a few events as well. Can you tell us a bit more?

On March 2, I was invited by 3y Technology at Le Castellet to live another of my dreams, driving a racing car. A big thank you to them to have given me the opportunity to drive the wonderful BMW M4 GT4. After a session on the 3y simulator, I had the great pleasure to drive the GT4 on the circuit, with my friend Philippe Chatelet. Great to benefit from the competence of such a talented coach. And thank you for the trust. I know now that one day, I might fulfil my secret dream of racing a car.
On 28 March, together with other sportspeople, I was invited in Paris for a great event by Boris Derichebourg, President of the Derichebourg Group. It was a presentation and networking evening, giving us the opportunity to meet major company and business managers.

You were also invited on a new local web TV channel and another local event… what was that about?

As you know, I have lived in the Alpilles area for over 2 years, which is a region I love, and where I will probably settle down for good. Recently a web TV called Alpilles TV was created, and I was flattered to be asked to be their “marraine” for their launch on 22 March at Saint Remy de Provence.
In March also, I was invited by the association Marseille Plus, for an award together with other local personalities influential in Marseille and its surroundings. I am very honoured to have been named as ambassador for the town of Marseille.

I understand you had a few health problems as well… how did that affect you?

Yes, I was unable to train or fly due to illness for some time. This meant that unfortunately I was not able to go to the selection competition for a place in the French aerobatic team, which will attend the Unlimited Aerobatics World Championship in Chateauroux in August. Therefore, sadly I am not selected to compete for France.

Back to the good news as I think you have a new partner has joined the team. Is that so?

I am pleased to announce a new partner has joined my team, to help me continue to live my dream: Farman by Galilé. Thank you for your trust and your vision, which help me to believe in my potential and raise my confidence.

We have also noticed that there have been some changes to your Extra 330SC plane.

Yes, I worked on a new design for my plane and it was with a big smile that I was able to reveal the new livery of my Extra 330, featuring my longtime supporters ESAF, ATM, BMW and my new sponsors Michelin, Pima Air & Space Museum, Alsimflight and Farman by Galilé.
I officially presented my “new” plane during the 1st BMW MTown Festival, at the Nevers Magny-Cours race track. Despite the very bad weather, I was able to perform two demonstration flights to show the new livery. I would like to thank Aircraftstudiodesign and Design Covering for their great work on my plane.

So as summer gets ever closer, is it still Smile On for you?

Definitely, plenty of news and projects to come. 2019 is going to be a great year for me and my team… so definitely a big…

Smoke on… smile on!

TO DREAM, TO FLY, TO INSPIRE… SMILE ON !

Actualités

Un début de saison au top pour Mélanie

Nous avons pris des nouvelles de Mélanie 3 mois après notre dernier newsletter. Tout d’abord, il y a eu la première course de la saison de Red Bull Air Race à Abu Dhabi.

Mélanie, Abu Dhabi … première course de la saison…racontez-nous.

La première course de la saison est toujours importante, c’est un test pour nous qui n’avons pas volé sur un circuit depuis longtemps. En ce qui me concerne, je n’ai pas piloté sur circuit depuis 6 mois. Autant dire que j’étais extrêmement motivée et heureuse de reprendre la compétition. L’entrainement s’est bien passé, que ce soit aux essais ou en Qualification. Les conditions étaient idéales pour la course. Le niveau des challengers est très élevé, mais l’esprit d’équipe est bien présent, malgré la compétition. Cette saison voit l’arrivée de trois nouveaux dans l’équipe des Challengers. Que ce soit aux essais ou en Qualification, j’ai abordé la piste avec beaucoup de respect et utilisé une méthode progressive. J’ai gardé tout le reste pour la course et là, j’ai tout donné.

Et donc, satisfaite aux essais et en qualification… parlez-nous de la course

J’ai volé en troisième position sur 6, ce qui me convient. Mon premier tour se passait très bien, avec une bonne vitesse d’amorce, le signal vert, mais j’ai dépassé les 10 Gs autorisés entre les portes 6 et 7, ce qui m’a valu une seconde de pénalité. Mais même avec la pénalité, je gardais une avance de ½ seconde, et j’ai rattrapé mon retard au deuxième tour, ce qui me donnait la première position à cet instant. Sans la pénalité, j’aurais fait un temps sensationnel. Je savais que cela mettrait la pression sur Florian Berger, notre « cible » car il est toujours le plus rapide ! Je sais que je dois améliorer la vitesse pour le battre. J’aimerais aux prochaines courses pouvoir voler après lui. En tout cas, je suis satisfaite de ma deuxième place. C’est mon premier podium depuis octobre 2017, ma première place à Indianapolis. Je pense avoir démontré que je suis dans la course. Abu Dhabi a été un super lancement de cette saison. Ma prochaine course Red Bull Air Race c’est les 15 et 16 juin à Kazan en Russie.

Un très bon début de saison! Et depuis Abu Dhabi, qu’avez-vous fait ?

Entrainement, entrainement et encore entrainement en préparation de mes compétitions de voltige et courses à venir cette année, ainsi que gérer ma compagnie AirMel. La plupart de mes weekends je m’entraine au Castellet ou à Valréas, avec mon coach Pierre Varloteaux, qui est content de mes progrès. Je vole beaucoup mieux que l’année dernière et Pierre a été le déclic qui m’aide à gérer ma précision et ma concentration. C’est super de sentir que je fais les choses bien et que je m’améliore.

Vous avez aussi participé à des évènements. Pouvez-vous nous en parler.

Le 2 mars, j’étais invitée par 3y Technology au Castellet pour vivre un autre de mes rêves, conduire une voiture de course. Un grand merci à eux pour m’avoir donné l’opportunité de piloter la super BMW M4 GT4. Après une séance sur le simulateur 3y, j’ai eu le grand plaisir de conduire la GT4 sur le circuit, avec mon ami Philippe Chatelet. Quelle chance de profiter de la compétence d’un coach si talentueux. Merci pour la confiance. Je sais maintenant que peut-être un jour, je pourrais réaliser mon rêve secret d’une course automobile.
Le 28 mars, avec d’autres sportifs, j’étais invitée par Boris Derichebourg, président du Groupe Derichebourg, à un évènement à Paris. C’était une soirée de présentation et de networking, nous donnant l’opportunité de rencontrer des dirigeants de grandes compagnies et sociétés.

Vous avez aussi été invitée par une chaine de TV Internet et aussi un autre évènement local.. de quoi s’agit-il ?

Comme vous le savez, je vis dans les Alpilles depuis plus de 2 ans, et c’est une région que j’adore, et où je poserai sans doute mes valises pour de bon. Récemment une Chaine TV Internet Alpilles TV s’est créée, et je suis flattée qu’ils aient pensé à moi pour être leur marraine pour leur lancement le 22 mars à Saint Rémy de Provence.
En mars également, j’ai été invitée par l’association Marseille Plus, pour une remise de récompense à moi et à d’autres personnalités d’influence à Marseille et ses alentours. Je suis très honorée d’avoir été nommée ambassadrice de la ville de Marseille.

J’ai appris que vous aviez eu des problèmes de santé en avril… comment cela vous a-t-il affecté?

C’est exact, je n’ai pas pu m’entrainer ou voler pendant un certain temps pour raison de santé. En conséquence, malheureusement en avril, je n’ai pas pu me rendre à la compétition de sélection pour une place dans l’équipe de France de voltige, qui participera au championnat du monde de voltige Unlimited à Chateauroux en août. Et donc, hélas, je ne suis pas sélectionnée pour voler pour la France.

Revenons aux bonnes nouvelles, je crois que vous avez un nouveau partenaire dans votre équipe. C’est bien ça ?

J’ai le plaisir de présenter un nouveau partenaire dans mon équipe, qui m’aidera à continuer à vivre mon rêve : Farman by Galilé. Merci pour votre confiance et votre vision, qui m’aident à croire à mon potentiel et boostent ma confiance.

Nous avons aussi remarqué quelques changements sur votre avion Extra 330SC.

Oui, j’ai travaillé sur un nouveau design pour mon avion et c’est avec un grand sourire que j’ai pu révéler la nouvelle livrée de mon Extra 330, où figurent mes fidèles supporters ESAF, ATM, BMW et mes nouveaux sponsors Michelin, PIMA Air & Space Museum, Alsimflight et Farman by Galilé.
J’ai officiellement présenté mon “nouvel” avion au cours d’un évènement BMW, à Nevers Magny-Cours, le premier MTown Festival les 27 et 28 avril. Malgré le mauvais temps, j’ai pu effectuer deux vols de démonstration pour montrer la nouvelle livrée. Je tiens à remercier Aircrafstudiodesign et Design Covering pour leur super travail.

Donc à l’approche de l’été, c’est toujours Smile On pour vous?

Tout à fait, beaucoup de nouvelles et de projets à venir.
2019 sera une belle année pour mon équipe et moi … donc c’est sûr un grand…

Smoke on… smile on!

TO DREAM, TO FLY, TO INSPIRE… SMILE ON !