Racing and Disciplines

3 disciplines, 1 passion

Mélanie’s talent is versatile when she takes part in aerial meetings around the globe. Her skills make her a favourite in races such as the Red Bull Air Race. Agile in the aerobatics competitions, technical and creative in freestyle.

Red Bull Air Race: 14 pilots, 10 Gs, No limit

The Red Bull Air Race world championship is an international competition recognized by the FAI – Fédération Aéronautique Internationale.

The Red Bull Air Race world championship is known throughout the world as the fastest and most exciting mechanical sport on the planet.

Invented by the sports think tank of Red Bull, the initial aim was to create the most advanced aerial challenge ever seen in the world. Today, this project bears the name Red Bull Air Race, and its success is even bigger than anticipated by its creators.

It is an unmatched visual show. A combination of high speed, flight at low altitude and extreme manoeuvres, only accessible to the most experienced pilots in the world.

More infos

AEROBATICS : a sequence of figures – full throttle!

Aerobatics is an aerial activity consisting in using an aircraft to perform aerial figures, ie unusual aerial manœuvres. Aerobatics figures can be performed by planes.

Competitors take part in several types of programmes: programmes known in advance that they can rehearse ahead; free programmes that each pilot prepares according to common rules, which he can then repeat; unknown programmes that each pilot will perform for the first time the day of the competition. These are naturally the most selective.

In the top category, i.e. Mélanie’s, the pilots can present a free integral with unique figures that they have conceived themselves.

During a competition, the figures have to be performed in a cubic volume of 1000 meters each side. This volume is materialised on the ground by white marks nine meters by two. For security reasons, the pilots are not allowed to fly below 100 meters. The pilot must fly his programme in that cubic volume (the box) without going past the limits, otherwise incurring a penalty by the jury. The latter rates the symmetry and the precision of the figures, a little bit like in an ice skating competition.

More infos

FREESTYLE : When creativity challenges technique

Freestyle aerobatics is a discipline where pilots are free to perform their favourite and most impressive figures. The flight is with music background and is judged according to three main criteria: originality , technicity and harmony. This discipline is the most impressive for the spectators as the pilot will put his plane is all sorts of postures.

3 next races

PORTO

02-03 SEPTEMBER 2017

See the event
LAUSITZ

16-17 SEPTEMBER 2017

See the event
INDIANAPOLIS

14-15 OCTOBER 2017

See the event

Courses et Disciplines

3 disciplines, 1 passion

Mélanie brille par sa polyvalence et participe à de nombreux meetings aériens tout autour du globe.
Ses compétences lui permettent d’être favorite dans les courses comme la Red Bull Air Race.
Agile dans les épreuves de voltige. Technique et créative en freestyle.

RED BULL AIR RACE : 14 pilotes, 10G, Aucune limite

Le championnat du monde Red Bull Air Race est une compétition internationale reconnue par la FAI – Fédération Aéronautique Internationale.

Depuis son lancement officiel, le championnat du monde Red Bull Air Race est connu à travers le monde comme étant le sport mécanique le plus rapide et exaltant sur la planète.

Inventé par le groupe de réflexion sports de Red Bull, le but initial était de créer le défi aérien le plus avancé auquel le monde n’ait jamais assisté. Aujourd’hui c’est sous le nom de Red Bull Air Race que ce projet a évolué, dépassant même les attentes initiales de ses créateurs.

C’est un spectacle visuel inégalé. Une combinaison de haute vitesse, vol à basse altitude et manœuvres extrêmes, accessible seulement aux pilotes les plus expérimentés au monde.

Plus d’infos

LA VOLTIGE : un enchaînement de figures, plein gaz !

La voltige aérienne est une activité aérienne consistant à utiliser un aéronef pour effectuer des figures de voltige, c’est-à-dire des manœuvres aériennes sortant de l’ordinaire. Les figures de voltige peuvent être réalisées par des avions.

Les compétiteurs se mesurent à plusieurs types de programmes : des programmes connus à l’avance que chacun peut répéter à sa guise, des programmes libres que chacun construit selon des règles communes mais qu’il peut ensuite répéter, des programmes inconnus que chacun exécute pour la première fois le jour de la compétition. Ces programmes sont naturellement les plus sélectifs.

Dans la catégorie reine, celle de Mélanie, les pilotes peuvent présenter un libre intégral avec des figures uniques qu’ils ont eux-mêmes imaginées.

Lors d’une compétition, les évolutions doivent être réalisées dans un volume cubique de 1 000 m de côté. Ce volume est matérialisé au sol par des repères blancs de neuf mètres sur deux. Les pilotes ne doivent pas évoluer, pour des raisons de sécurité, en dessous de la hauteur de 100 mètres. Le pilote doit réaliser son programme dans ce volume sans en dépasser les limites sous peine de pénalisation par le jury. Celui-ci, un peu à l’image d’une compétition de patinage artistique, note la symétrie et la précision d’exécution des figures.

Plus d’infos

LE FREESTYLE : Quand la créativité défie la technique !

La voltige freestyle est une discipline où les pilotes sont libres de faire les figures qui leur plaisent et qu’ils trouvent le plus impressionnant. Le vol s’effectue en musique et est noté en fonction de 3 critères principaux: originalité, technicité et harmonie. Cette discipline est la plus impressionnante pour les spectateurs car le pilote met son avion dans toutes les postures.

Les 3 prochaines courses

PORTO

02-03 SEPTEMBRE 2017

Voir l’évènement
LAUSITZ

16-17 SEPTEMBRE 2017

Voir l’évènement
INDIANAPOLIS

14-15 OCTOBRE 2017

Voir l’évènement