News

Fresh Landmark Victory : Melanie on Indianapolis

For French pilot Mélanie Astles, the Red Bull Air Race season finale at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on 14-15 October marked the conclusion of her second season in the Challenger Class – and she couldn’t have capped it off any better. Astles, who clinched her first-ever podium with second place at Indy in 2016, had already earned two more podiums this season (third at Abu Dhabi and Porto), when at the finale she broke through to capture the first win of her career. And it wasn’t a landmark for her alone. The triumph marked the first time a woman had ever stood on the top of a Red Bull Air Race podium. What’s more, it was a milestone for the iconic Indianapolis Motor Speedway itself: the first time that a woman had won a major motorsport event in its 108-year history.

Mélanie, how was it to see the view from the top of a race podium for the first time?

It was a fantastic feeling and also an achievement that came from a long road of hard work, spending days and days working toward this moment. Strangely, it happened in a different way than I was expecting: the race result was based on Qualifying, where I had the best time, when the Challenger race was cancelled due to bad weather on Sunday. Anyway, it was really a great feeling and I was proud to be able to stand on the first step of the podium. Also, my dad was there, and it was so nice to have him watching the ceremony.

When did it first occur to you that your Qualifying result might turn out to be the race result?

I saw the forecast before my Quali flight, and I was guessing that the weather was going to be pretty bad on Sunday. I didn’t know that the race would be cancelled, but I had this kind of sixth sense – I was thinking, “This is Quali, but it’s not a Quali. It could be the race.” Also I was really relaxed because I had everything to win. After being sixth in the final Free Practice on Saturday morning, I could only go up, or at worst stay the same, so in the end I just had to relax and fly and enjoy. As usual, I had been analyzing all the different variables for the flight and I’d been testing all the mistakes I could be making, so I had fixed all of that and I knew the job – I knew what to do, thanks to my team. I’ve got a few people working for me from France, and when I was very busy with media interviews, or when I was relaxing and trying to focus, they were working hard and giving me the good trajectories and checking all the data. So they gave me great direction, and I knew where to go and I was relaxed. This was perfect for me.

Was it extra special to take your first win at a place like Indianapolis Motor Speedway, with its long motorsport heritage?

As a real motorsport fan, I’m so delighted to have won in this historic place. And also becoming part of the legacy as the first-ever woman to win a major race there in 108 years of history is really, really, really a great feeling. Plus at Indianapolis, besides standing on the podium, there are also traditions like the kissing of the racetrack bricks. There was so much emotion and so much reward in this achievement. As I say very often, I believe that when you can envision success far in the distance and then work hard, it does somehow happen – and even if it doesn’t happen, it’s always nice to know you’ve done your best. I had been very unlucky at some of the races before Indianapolis, but there’s always a lesson, and I probably needed to fix some things. So I did my best again at Indy, and this time it worked out.

Are you disappointed that you didn’t get to fly on Race Day?

For sure I was disappointed. As a race pilot and competitor, I feel it’s a shame that we didn’t fly on Sunday; however, it’s always about safety first. But I was really willing to try because everything was working well and I was actually managing to be in the zone, in the performance zone. I was feeling good. For the sake of the season standings, it would have been nice to go and get the full 10 points available for the race, because with the results based on the Quali we got only 50 percent of the points. But anyway, that’s how it is. And on the other hand I think it’s much fairer this way, because on Saturday we were all flying in the same weather conditions throughout the Qualifying runs, and that made it much more equal. If we had raced on Sunday, I think it wouldn’t have been equal throughout the race, because the weather and the wind were changing so fast. I would have had an advantage because the first guys flying probably would have opened the door and made the mistakes, and also the wind was decreasing with time, which is quite rare. So I think I would have been the lucky one in the race, but I could have been unlucky, too. Anyway, basically everybody got the same chance on Saturday in the same weather conditions, and that was perfect.

What does the accomplishment of being the first woman to win a major motorsport race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway mean to you?

I was shocked to speak with someone about the history of the racetrack. He was telling me about an aviation meet in 1910 where a woman was not allowed to enter the grounds to meet her husband, who was a pilot, because women were not permitted to get close to any of the planes. Now in contrast, it’s such a great honour for me to be able to write this page in aviation history as being the first woman to win a Red Bull Air Race, but also to celebrate the first-ever time in the history of motorsports that a woman wins a race at Indianapolis and kisses the bricks. So for me, I’ve got this feeling, as I was saying at the press conference, that I’m opening a door, or hopefully breaking what they call the “glass ceiling.” What I hope is that this is just the start of a succession of victories for me in the next seasons. And for me, winning at Indy meant even more because it’s where I earned my first podium last year by finishing second. So I hope next year we’ll be flying there again. I’m just so happy about what’s been achieved at Indianapolis. It was a great adventure!

TO DREAM, TO FLY, TO INSPIRE… SMILE ON !

Mel enjoys reading your support on

Actualités

La Victoire : Mélanie nous parle d’Indianapolis

Pour la pilote française Mélanie Astles, la finale de la saison de Red Bull Air Race à Indianapolis Motor Speedway les 14 et 15 octobre, conclue sa seconde saison en Classe Challenger – et elle n’aurait pas pu terminer mieux. Mélanie, qui avait obtenu son tout premier podium en deuxième place à Indy en 2016, et déjà deux autres podiums en 2017 (troisième à Abu Dhabi et à Porto), s’est dépassée pour s’emparer de la première victoire de sa carrière. Et celle-ci est mémorable non seulement pour elle, car c’est aussi la première fois qu’une femme monte sur la première marche du podium d’une Red Bull Air Race. De plus, c’est un évènement majeur pour l’emblématique Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS) : c’est la première fois qu’une femme y gagne une grande compétition en sport mécanique dans toute son histoire vieille de 108 ans.

Mélanie, comment était la vue là-haut sur la première marche d’un podium de course pour la première fois?

C’était fantastique et aussi la récompense après beaucoup de travail, des jours et des jours d’effort pour cet instant. Bizarrement, c’est arrivé de manière différente de ce que j’avais imaginé : le résultat de la course était basé sur les Qualifications du samedi, où j’ai fait le meilleur temps, car la Course Challenger du dimanche a dû être annulée à cause des mauvaises conditions météo. Une grande joie quand même et j’étais fière de monter sur la première marche du podium. Mon père était présent, et c’était super qu’il puisse assister à la cérémonie.

Quand avez-vous réalisé que votre temps de Qualification pourrait devenir le résultat de la course?

J’avais vu la météo avant mon vol de Qualification, et j’avais compris que le temps serait plutôt mauvais le dimanche. Je ne savais pas que la course serait annulée, mais j’avais ce sixième sens – Je me disais en moi-même « C’est la Qualif, mais ce n’est pas une Qualif. Ce pourrait être la Course ». J’étais aussi très relax car j’avais tout à gagner. J’étais sixième en Pratique Libre finale le samedi matin, je ne pouvais que faire mieux, ou au pire rester à la même place, donc en fait tout ce que j’avais à faire c’était rester calme, voler et prendre du plaisir. Comme toujours, j’avais analysé toutes les différents variables du vol et testé les erreurs possibles. Donc j’avais tout ça ancré en moi et je connaissais mon job – je savais ce qu’il fallait faire, grâce à mon équipe. Quelques personnes travaillent pour moi en France. Quand j’étais sollicitée par les média, ou quand je me relaxais ou me concentrais, ils vérifiaient toutes les données et étudiaient les bonnes trajectoires. Ils m’ont donné les bonnes informations, je savais où aller et j’étais relaxée. Pour moi, c’était parfait.

Est-ce que c’était extra spécial une première victoire dans un endroit tel que Indianapolis Motor Speedway, avec son historique de sport mécanique ?
En tant que fan de sports mécaniques, je suis ravie d’avoir gagné dans cet endroit historique. Et de faire partie de son héritage comme première femme à y gagner une course majeure en 108 ans d’histoire, c’est vraiment, vraiment une très grande exaltation. De plus, à Indianapolis, à part monter sur le podium, il y a des traditions comme embrasser les briques du circuit. Il y a eu beaucoup d’émotion et de récompense dans cette victoire. Comme je le dis souvent, si vous pouvez imaginer le succès au bout de la route, et si vous travaillez dur, il pourra vous sourire. Et même si vous échouez, c’est réconfortant de savoir que vous avez donné le meilleur de vous-même. J’ai eu de la malchance sur certaines courses avant Indianapolis, mais il y a toujours une leçon à apprendre, et j’avais probablement besoin de régler certaines choses.

Êtes-vous déçue de ne pas avoir volé le dimanche, jour de la Course?

Bien sûr, j’étais déçue. En tant que pilote de course et compétiteur, je pense que c’est dommage de ne pas avoir pu voler le dimanche ; toutefois, la sécurité prime. Mais j’avais vraiment envie de voler car tout se passait bien et j’ai réussi à me sentir dans « la zone », dans la zone de la performance. Je me sentais bien. Pour le résultat final de la saison, j’aurais aimé gagner les 10 points attribués au premier, car les résultats étant basés sur les Qualifs, nous n’avons eu que 50% des points. Mais c’est comme ça. D’un autre côté, je pense aussi que c’était plus juste ainsi, car le samedi nous avons tous volé dans les mêmes conditions météo pendant tous les runs de Qualifications, et c’était en toute égalité. Si nous avions volé le dimanche, ce n’aurait pas été égal pendant toute la course, le temps et le vent changeant brutalement. J’aurais eu un avantage car les premiers pilotes à voler auraient ouvert le bal et fait des erreurs, et aussi le vent se calmait graduellement, ce qui est plutôt rare. Donc, je pense que j’aurais été favorisée pour la course, mais j’aurais pu aussi bien être malchanceuse. En conclusion, en fait, tout le monde a eu la même opportunité le samedi dans les mêmes conditions météo, et c’était parfait.

Comment ressentez-vous votre accomplissement d’être la première femme à gagner une course majeure à Indianapolis Motor Speedway ?

J’étais choquée en entendant que dans l’histoire du circuit, pendant un meeting d’aviation, une femme n’avait pas été autorisée à aller sur le circuit pour retrouver son mari, qui était pilote, car il était interdit aux femmes d’aller près des avions. Aussi en contraste, c’est un grand honneur pour moi de pouvoir écrire cette page dans l’histoire de l’aviation en tant que première femme à gagner une Red Bull Air Race, mais aussi de célébrer la toute première fois dans l’histoire des sports mécaniques qu’une femme gagne une course à Indianapolis et embrasse les briques. Et comme je le disais en conférence de presse, j’ai le sentiment d’ouvrir une porte, et j’espère briser ce qu’on appelle le « plafond de verre ». Ce que je souhaite, c’est que cette victoire soit le début d’une série dans les prochaines saisons. Et pour moi, gagner à Indy signifie beaucoup plus car c’est là que j’ai fait mon premier podium l’année dernière, quand je suis arrivée deuxième. Donc j’espère que nous volerons encore à Indy l’année prochaine. Je suis tellement heureuse de ce que j’y ai accompli. Quelle belle aventure !

TO DREAM, TO FLY, TO INSPIRE… SMILE ON !

Mélanie lit vos messages de soutien sur