News

Mel gets us up to speed with the new season

Winter is still here but down time is over… the Red Bull Air Race is already back after a short winter break! Let’s have a quick catch up with Mélanie as she prepares for the first race of the season in Abu Dhabi.

Mélanie, we have not heard from you since before Christmas… have you been busy?

Yes indeed! November was especially busy. I had the privilege to be invited to give a keynote speech by Scott Marchand, Director Collection and Aircraft Restoration, at the Pima Air & Space Museum in Tucson, Arizona. The Pima museum is one of the largest aircraft museums in the world with around 350 aircraft and is a truly amazing place. I just want to say thank you to everyone who welcomed me there, and especially Scott, who also talked about the Great Paper Airplane story launched by Pima. I invite everyone to watch the video on YouTube.

Later that month, I gave another keynote speech in Monaco at the Day One forum. The theme was global digital development, with worldwide figures and organisations talking about their positive impact and view on tomorrow’s world, the aim being to transform their vision into action. I was asked to talk about women, will and passion and of course that suited me down to the ground. I am always happy to share my message of passion and determination.

We heard that you were into gaming? What is that about?

I was honoured to be asked by Bandai Namco to become ambassador for Ace Combat 7, the new version of the fighter simulator game that has been around for 25 years! This latest version of the saga is fantastic to play, and the VR is the best I have seen. The sensations are very close to reality, everything is there except for the G forces! I honestly really enjoyed myself, so to all my gaming fans… go check it out!

TF1 and M6 both filmed me testing the game. The M6 report was broadcast within the evening news on M6 on 10 January. The TF1 shoot is available on Youtube.

What about your training? Did you take a break?

Hardly… I continued my physical training with Romain Guillot, who is really pleased with my progress, and I am happy to say that I have been flying a lot in my Extra 330SC at Visan and Le Castellet to train for the upcoming air race season and also for the World Aerobatics Championship at Chateauroux in August. I am very lucky to have Pierre Varloteaux training me. His experience has helped me progress so much over the past few months.

Christmas brought a new addition to Team Melanie Astles. Can you tell us more?

Of course! I am delighted to announce that Victoria joined the team as my Communications Manager just before Christmas, and we have some super projects for this year. So with André, Martine, Nick, Pierre, Romain, and now Victoria, the foundations are set for a really strong team and that is helping me focus more on what I need to do to win. It’s fantastic to know that I have a solid team supporting me. It’s a great confidence builder.

You also turned up at Cannes in the New year… but not for a race this time.

Yes, BMW organised a two day event called Fast Start at Cannes-Mandelieu Airport. They were presenting the new BMW range to their sales network, giving them the chance to drive the cars both on-track and off-road workshops. I got the chance to learn to drift, which was really fun. I brought “baby Mel”, a scale model of my BMW Extra 330SC plane and it was displayed in the hangar. I want to thank BMW for their ongoing support; it is always a real privilege to take part in these events.

Going into the first Red Bull Air race of the season, how are you feeling?

I’m feeling great actually. Physically I am in great shape and I have been flying regularly. As I mentioned, my flying has improved a lot over the past few months and that has built my confidence. My precision and concentration during aerobatics are much more consistent and that will help me a lot during the racing.

That’s fantastic! What are your hopes for Abu Dhabi?

I want to win of course, which never changes. That is my driving force. But the competition will be tough. All the big players in the Challenger Cup are competing there I am going to have to push the limits. But I am happy with my flying, a lot more than last year, so I know I have a chance. I will fly 5 races this year…no more 4th places… I am aiming for the top!

Thank you Melanie, we look forward to the first race on the 8th and 9th February in Abu Dhabi. Anything else you would like to add?

To all my fans and my sponsors, I want to wish a Happy New year while it’s still time and thank you for your support; It means so much to me. I am really focussed on winning for you all and with that in mind…

Smoke on… smile on!

TO DREAM, TO FLY, TO INSPIRE… SMILE ON !

Actualités

La Nouvelle saison débute… Mélanie raconte

Nous voilà en hiver et le temps d’arrêt se termine…. La saison des courses RBAR est de retour ! Prenons des nouvelles de Mélanie alors qu’elle se prépare pour la première course de la saison à Abu Dhabi.

Mélanie, nous n’avons pas de vos nouvelles depuis la période avant Noël… comment allez-vous ?

Eh bien, j’ai été particulièrement occupée en novembre. J’ai eu le privilège d’être invitée pour faire un discours par Scott Marchand, Directeur des Collections et de la Restauration au Pima Air & Space Museum à Tucson, Arizona. Le Pima Museum est un des plus grands musées d’aviation au monde avec environ 350 avions et c’est un endroit extraordinaire. Je remercie tous ceux qui m’ont si bien accueillie, en particulier Scott, qui m’a parlé du Great Paper Airplane story créé par Pima. Vidéo à voir absolument sur YouTube.

Fin novembre, j’ai fait un autre discours à Monaco au forum intitulé Day One, dont le thème était le développement global digital, avec des intervenants et des organisations de niveau mondial, sur leur impact positif sur le monde de demain, afin de transformer leur vision en action. Mon sujet était de parler des femmes, de la force de la volonté et de la passion. Bien sûr, je suis comme un poisson dans l’eau, ou plutôt comme un pilote dans le ciel ! quand il s’agit de partager mon message de passion et détermination !

Il parait que vous vous lancez dans les jeux vidéo? Qu’en est-il ?

J’ai été honorée que Bandai Namco me demande d’être leur ambassadrice pour Ace Combat 7, la nouvelle version du jeu d’arcade d’avion de combat qui existe depuis 25 ans ! La dernière version de la saga est fantastique, et la RV est la meilleure jamais vue. Les sensations sont très proches de la réalité, tout est là sauf les forces Gs ! Je me suis vraiment amusée, alors à tous mes fans amateurs de jeux vidéo… allez vite l’essayer ! J’ai été interviewée et filmée par TF1 et M6, pendant que je testais le jeu. Le reportage de M6 a été diffusé au cours des infos de la chaine le 10 janvier. Vous pouvez voir le reportage TF1 360 ici

Qu’en est-il de votre entrainement? Avez-vous pris du repos ?

Un peu… j’ai continué l’entrainement physique avec Romain Guillot, qui est satisfait de mes progrès, et j’ai beaucoup volé avec mon Extra 330SC à Visan et Le Castellet en préparation de la saison RBAR et aussi pour le Championnat du Monde de Voltige à Châteauroux en aout. J’ai beaucoup de chance d’être coachée par Pierre Varloteaux. Grâce à sa grande expérience, j’ai énormément progressé ces derniers mois.

Noël a apporté un nouveau membre à Team Mélanie Astles. Racontez-nous.

J’ai le plaisir d’annoncer que Victoria a rejoint l’équipe en tant que Communications Manager juste avant Noël, et nous avons plein de super projets cette année. Avec Pierre, Romain, André, Nick et maintenant Victoria, les fondations sont ancrées pour une équipe forte et cela va m’aider pour me concentrer plus sur ce que je dois faire pour gagner. C’est super de savoir qu’une équipe solide me soutient, excellent pour renforcer ma confiance en moi.

On vous a vue à Cannes fin janvier… mais pas pour une
course cette fois.

Oui ! BMW avait organisé un évènement sur deux jours, Fast Start à l’aéroport de Cannes-Mandelieu, pour présenter leurs nouveaux produits à leur force de ventes, avec la possibilité pour eux d’essayer les voitures sur piste et sur tout-terrain. J’ai pu entre autres, prendre une leçon de drift, et j’ai adoré. J’avais convoyé mon « bébé Mel », la maquette de mon Extra 330SC BMW qui était exposée dans le hangar pendant l’évènement. Je remercie BMW pour leur soutien continu. C’est toujours un grand privilège de participer à ces évènements en tant qu’ambassadrice.

A la veille de la première course RBAR de la saison,
comment vous sentez-vous?

Je me sens très bien. Physiquement, je suis en excellente forme et j’ai beaucoup volé et régulièrement. Comme déjà mentionné, j’ai fait de gros progrès en vol ces derniers mois et cela m’a donné confiance. Ma précision et ma concentration en voltige sont plus constants et cela va beaucoup m’aider pour la course.

Super! Qu’espérez-vous pour Abu Dhabi?

Gagner bien sûr, ça c’est clair ! C’est mon moteur. Mais la compétition sera rude. Les principaux acteurs de la Challenger Cup seront là et il va falloir repousser les limites. Mais je suis satisfaite de mes vols, beaucoup plus que l’année dernière, donc j’ai ma chance. Je ferai 5 courses cette année… je ne veux plus de 4ème places… je vise la première marche !

Merci Mélanie, nous attendons avec hâte la première course de la saison les 8 et 9 février à Abu Dhabi. Voulez-vous ajouter autre chose ?

A tous mes fans et mes sponsors, une bonne année en les remerciant pour leur soutien si précieux pour moi. Je ferai tout pour gagner pour vous tous et sur cette promesse…

Smoke on… smile on!

TO DREAM, TO FLY, TO INSPIRE… SMILE ON !