Mélanie Astles

Nationality:   
DOB: 30 May 1982
Size: 1,75m

To Dream, To Fly, To Inspire…

Mélanie Astles is five-time aerobatics French Champion at 5 different levels, from Espoir in 2007 to Unlimited in 2015 and she finished several times in the top ten ranking of the aerobatics European and World Championships.

As a Challenger Cup pilot, she entered history as the first and only woman to compete in the famous Red Bull Air Race.

In 2019, she became the first woman pilot British Champion, as well as finishing 2nd in the Unlimited French championship and ranking 7th woman in the aerobatics Unlimited world championship.

Mélanie’s story is above all made of passion, perseverance and overcoming the odds. When she quit school at 18 to enter active life, nobody could imagine that this young lady would one day see her dream of becoming a pilot come true. Like every successful life path, it is, to a large extent, thanks to the exceptional people met along her way that she owes her success.

Passionate, self-willed and hard-working, Mélanie puts all her heart towards pursuing her sporting and aviation objectives. She loves to share her dreams with the public and inspire people to find their own path, by way of her social network, or at aviation meetings during which she performs worldwide every year. Taking all disciplines together, she totals up 4000 flight hours.

“Wisdom is to have dreams big enough not to lose sight when we pursue them.”

 

Oscar Wilde

Meet Mélanie’s team

Pierre Varloteaux

Technical manager

Technical Coach, Pierre helps with the preparation, the revision and the execution of Mélanie’s  training flights, from the ground.

Ex French Air Force pilot for more than 28 years, Pierre was a  presentation pilot, competitor then unit commander within the French Air Force Aerobatics Team during 15 years.

Romain Guillot

Fitness coach

He is the conditioning coach of Mélanie. With a Master in Physical Preparation (Bac+5) at Montpellier University, he offers his competence and experience in physical training so that Mélanie can respond with efficiency to the many physical constraints during her flights.

André Armand

Mental preparation coach

As a professional certified mental preparation coach, he helps Mélanie to visualise her races and aerobatics programmes. He is also always at the end of a line to help her manage her stress during difficult times in competition.

Loan Charleau

Photographer

Talented young artist photographer, Loan regularly follows Mélanie in her adventures, taking photos and videos during flights or on the ground.

https://loancharleau.com/

Martine Astles

Communication

Martine helps Mélanie with writing and translating her communications as well as her newsletters, with the help of Nick Wheeler, synthesizing recent events for posting on the website melanieastles.com, and on the social networks.

Nick Wheeler

Logistics and administration Coordinator

Nick actively participates in the team’s logistics and on administration. He also works with Martine on the conception of the trimestrial newsletters so you can always be up to date.

Nick is passionate about aviation and himself a pilot with a very sharp analytical sens that helped Melanie a lot on the analysis of trajectories in the Red Bull Air Race.

Mélanie Astles

Nationalité :  
Date de naissance : 30/05/1982
Taille: 1,75m

To Dream, To Fly, To Inspire…

Mélanie Astles est quintuple championne de France de voltige aérienne dans 5 niveaux distincts, de l’Espoir en 2007 – à l’Elite 2015 et a fini plusieurs fois dans le top 10 du classement des championnats du Monde et d’Europe de voltige. En tant que pilote de la Challenger Cup, elle est entrée dans l’histoire comme la première femme à concourir dans les célèbres Red Bull Air Race. Elle devient en 2019 elle devient championne Britannique, ainsi que Vice-championne de France Elite.

L’histoire de Mélanie est avant tout faite de passion, de persévérance et de surpassement. Quand elle quitte l’école à 18 ans pour entrer dans la vie professionnelle, personne n’imagine que cette jeune fille puisse un jour réaliser son rêve d’enfance : devenir pilote. Comme tout parcours à succès, c’est grâce aux personnes exceptionnelles qu’elle a croisées sur son chemin qu’elle doit aussi en grande partie sa réussite.

Passionnée, volontaire et travailleuse, Mélanie met tout son cœur dans la poursuite de ses objectifs sportifs et aéronautiques. Elle adore partager ses rêves avec le public et inspirer les gens à se mettre sur leur chemin sur les réseaux sociaux, ou lors des meetings aériens auxquels elle participe dans le monde entier chaque année. Toutes disciplines confondues, elle totalise plus de 4000 heures de vol.

“La sagesse, c’est d’avoir des rêves suffisamment grands pour ne pas les perdre de vue lorsqu’on les poursuit.”

 

Oscar Wilde

Découvrez la team Mélanie Astles

Pierre Varloteaux

Préparateur Technique

Coach technique, Pierre aide à la préparation, la révision, et l’exécution depuis le sol des vols d’entrainement de Mélanie.

Ancien pilote dans l’Armée de l’Air pendant plus de 28 ans, Pierre a été pilote présentateur, compétiteur puis commandant d’unité au sein de l’Equipe de Voltige de l’Armée de l’Air pendant plus de 15 ans.

Romain Guillot

Préparateur Physique

Il est le préparateur physique de Mélanie. Diplômé d’un MASTER en préparation physique (Bac+5) à l’Université de Montpellier, il propose ses compétences et ses connaissances dans l’entraînement physique afin que Mélanie puisse répondre à ses nombreuses contraintes physiques lors de ses vols.

André Armand

Préparateur Mental

Coach mental professionnel certifié il intervient auprès de Mélanie afin de l’aider dans la mentalisation des courses et programmes de voltige. Il intervient également en gestion du stress lors de journées éprouvantes.

Loan Charleau

Photographe

Jeune artiste photographe de talent, Loan suit régulièrement Mélanie dans ses aventures, pour réaliser des images en vol ou au sol.

https://loancharleau.com/

Martine Astles

Communication

Martine aide Mélanie pour la rédaction et la traduction de ses communications ainsi que de ses newsletters, avec l’aide de Nick Wheeler, en synthétisant les derniers évènements pour une diffusion sur le site web melanieastles.com et sur les réseaux sociaux.

Nick Wheeler

Coordinateur logistique / Administratif

Nick participe activement à la logistique de l’équipe et aux montages de dossiers réglementaires, il participe également aux côtés de Martine à la rédaction des dossiers et newsletters afin de vous tenir au courant des actualités.

Nick est pilote d’avion et un pur passionné tout en ayant un sens analytique très développé, ce qui lui a permis d’assister Mélanie sur ses debriefings de courses Red Bull Air Race.